2019 Scientific Discovery through Advanced Computing Principal Investigator (PI) Meeting

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy
Office of Advanced Scientific Computing Research (ASCR)
Hilton Washington DC/Rockville
Rockville, MD
July 16 – 18, 2019


The agenda is also available as a PDF file (120 KB). All presentations linked to the agenda are in PDF format.

Adobe Reader may be necessary to view PDF files on your computing device. If you don't have the latest version of Reader, you can download a free copy from Adobe.

Tuesday Session 1 Plaza Ballroom and Atrium Moderator Session 2 Moderator
7:00am - 9:00am Continental Breakfast and Registration/Badging
Plaza Ballroom Foyer
9:00am - 9:15am Welcome and Announcements [126 KB]
Plaza Ballroom
Randall Laviolette    
9:15am - 9:30am Overview: Barbara Helland (ASCR) Ceren Susut    
9:30am - 10:15am FASTMath Institute: K. Devine (SNL) [4.25 MB] Ceren Susut    
10:15am - 10:30am Break      
10:30am - 11:15am RAPIDS Institute: L. Oliker (LBNL) [31.57 MB] Ceren Susut    
11:15am - 12:30pm A Retrospective of SciDAC: Stories that Make the Program Unique (Part I): E. Ng (LBNL) Presentation [7.99 MB], J. Vary (ISU) Presentation [17.77 MB], A. Nakano (USC) Presentation [2 MB], S. Klasky (ORNL) Presentation [24.12 MB], C. Chang (PPPL) Presentation [1.26 MB] Ceren Susut    
12:30pm - 2:00pm Lunch (Buffet) – Plaza Ballroom Foyer      
2:00pm - 4:00pm Poster Session 1 - Atrium Matthias Graf    
Wednesday Session 1 Regency Moderator Session 2 Eisenhower Moderator
7:00am - 8:30am Continental Breakfast and Registration/Badging
Plaza Ballroom Foyer
8:30am - 10:15am BER 1: P. Jones (LANL) Presentation [23.94 MB], P. Bosler (SNL) Presentation [4.90 MB], D. Ricciuto (ORNL), G. Bisht (PNNL) Presentation [3.82 MB]; K. Evans (ORNL) Renu Joseph NP 1: R. Hix (ORNL) Presentation [6.25 MB], R. Edwards (TJNAF) Presentation [24.44 MB], T. Papenbrock (ORNL) Presentation [9.75] George Fai
10:15am - 10:30am Break      
10:30am - 12:00pm BER 2: S. Price (LANL) Presentation [2.37 MB], A. Turner (LANL) Presentation [8.64 MB], H. Wan (PNNL) Presentation [4.58 MB], T. Yamaguchi (CU/NOAA) Presentation [13.32 MB] Sally McFarlane FES 1: J. Candy (GA) Presentation [20.75 MB], Z. Lin (UC-Irvine) Presentation [2.26 MB], B.D. Wirth (ORNL/UTK) Presentation [25.43 MB] Guin Shaw
12:00pm - 1:30pm Lunch (Buffet)  – Plaza Ballroom Foyer      
1:30pm - 2:45pm BES 1: J. Davenport (BES); T. P. Devereaux (SLAC) Presentation [4.20 MB], M. Head-Gordon (LBNL) Presentation [8.88 MB] Mark Pederson FES 2: D. Brennan (Princeton), X. Tang (LANL); WDM Discussion: N. Ferraro (PPPL) Presentation [13.63 MB], D. Green (ORNL) Presentation [7.60 MB], D. Spong (ORNL) Presentation [4.05 MB], J. Lore (ORNL) Presentation [3.32 MB], D. Sheng (CSU-N) Presentation [4.83], S. Shiraiwa (MIT) Presentation [4.44 MB] Guin Shaw
2:45pm - 3:00pm Break      
3:00pm - 4:30pm HEP 1: S. Habib (ANL) Presentation [3.63 MB], J. Amundsen/E. Stern (FNAL) Presentation [1.36 MB], J. Kowalkowski (FNAL) Presentation [1.68 MB], G. Cerati (FNAL) Presentation [6.15 MB], S. Hoeche (FNAL) Presentation [1.77 MB] Lali Chatterjee FES 3: D. Hatch (UTAustin)/G. Hammett (PPPL), C.S. Chang (PPPL) Presentation [10.15 MB]/A. Hakim (PPPL) Presentation [1.38 MB], P. Bonoli (MIT) Presentation [6.24 MB] Guin Shaw
Thursday Session 1 Regency, Plaza Ballroom, and Atrium Moderator Session 2 Eisenhower Moderator
7:00am - 9:00am Continental Breakfast and Registration/Badging
Plaza Ballroom Foyer
9:00am - 9:45am NE 1: A. D. Andersson (LANL) Presentation [27.53 MB] David Henderson FES 4: S. Jardin (PPPL)Presentation [3.74 MB], M. Shephard (RPI) Presentation [8.31 MB] Guin Shaw
9:45am - 10:00am Break      
10:00am - 12:00pm SciDAC at the ASCR Facilities: Today and Tomorrow: R. Ross (ANL), J. Candy (GA) [6.41 MB] Ceren Susut    
12:00pm - 1:30pm Lunch (Buffet) [Plaza Ballroom Foyer]      
1:30pm - 2:30pm HEP 2: Discussion [B. Norris (Oregon ), J. Kowalkowski (FNAL)] Lali Chatterjee BES 2: T. Maier (ORNL) Presentation [15.65 MB], E Hohenstein (SLAC) Presentation [18.81 MB] Jim Davenport
2:30pm - 4:30pm Poster Session 2 - Atrium Matthias Graf