United States Department of Energy Office of Science

ASCR Cybersecurity Workshop

Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy,
Office of Advanced Scientific Computing research
Hilton Washington DC/Rockville Executive Meeting Center
Rockville, MD
January 7-9, 2015

ASCR Cybersecurity for Scientific Computing Integrity Report (PDF, 2.52 MB)

ASCR Program Manager: Robinson Pino

The U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Science, Office of Advanced Scientific Computing Research will host the ASCR Cybersecurity Workshop at the Hilton Washington DC/Rockville Executive Meeting Center in Rockville, Maryland. The meeting will begin on Wednesday, January 7, 2015, at 1:00 P.M. and will end on Friday, January 9, AT 1:00 P.M.


On behalf of Dr. Robinson E. Pino from the Advanced Scientific Computing Research (ASCR) Division of the Office of Science, U.S. Department of Energy, we invite you to submit a one to two page abstract to contribute to our upcoming ASCR Cybersecurity Workshop. Reviewed and accepted abstracts will be invited to contribute to our upcoming workshop. Abstract submission deadline is October 16, 2014.

Cybersecurity represents a national security threat and economic challenge confronting our country and scientific integrity; while at the same time, the quantity and sophistication of cyber-attacks continue to increase. This workshop will focus on long term technology research that enables extreme scale computational integrity, trust, and resilience. Some efforts by the federal government have focused on enabling near term solutions, and low emphasis is placed in the sustained long term mission driven scientific research. The Department of Energy (DOE) has the unique mission to ensure America's security and prosperity by addressing its energy, environmental and nuclear challenges through transformative science and technology solutions. Contributing to achieve this mission, the Office of Science (SC) ensures the delivery of scientific discoveries and major scientific tools to transform our understanding of nature and to advance the energy, economic, and national security of the United States. As we consider the Advanced Scientific Computing Research (ASCR) program's mission within SC and our long history in the research and development of extreme computing systems and facilities, it becomes apparent that we have the unique opportunity to research and explore designed- and built-in security mechanisms that will ensure trustworthy operation, integrity, usage, and results from extreme scale simulations and experiments that can be applied to a range of applications important to DOE such as power grid, nuclear, and/or climate modeling and simulation at extreme scales. One important aspect of the workshop will be to leverage ASCR's long standing research and development relationships with the scientific community, computer and software vendors to influence a long term security mindset during product research, development, and prototype delivery. Research abstracts are requested in four focused areas: (1) Extreme Scale Power Grid, (2) Trustworthy Supercomputing, (3) High-end Networking and Data Center, and (4) Extreme Scale Data, Knowledge and Analytics.

Abstract submissions are intended to educate and inform ASCR based on your experience, insights, and vision for how Cybersecurity will transform Office of Science research best practices. Address submissions or request for information via email to: Dr. Sean Peisert, sppeisert@lbl.gov, Dr. George Cybenko, george.cybenko@dartmouth.edu, Dr. Sushil Jajodia, jajodia@gmu.edu, Dr. Robinson Pino, robinson.pino@science.doe.gov. Drs. Sean Peisert, Sushil Jajodia, and George Cybenko will serve as the General Workshop Chairs. We look forward to your submission.

Robinson Pino


Workshop Organizing Committee

Dr. Sean Peisert (Co-Chair)
Staff Scientist, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Dr. Sushil Jajodia (Co-Chair)
Professor, George Mason University

Dr. George Cybenko (Co-Chair)
Professor, Dartmouth College

Dr. Paul Hovland
Computer Scientist, Argonne National Laboratory

Dr. Sven Leyffer
Senior Computational Mathematician, Argonne National Laboratory

Dr. Stacy Prowell
Chief Cybersecurity Research Scientist, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Mr. Von Welch
CACR Director, Indiana University

Dr. David L. Brown
Director, Computational Research Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Ms. Celeste Matarazzo
Data Scientist, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Mr. Brian Tierney
Group Leader, ESnet

Dr. Christopher L. DeMarco
Professor, University of Wisconsin-Madison


Adobe Reader is necessary to view PDF files. If you don't have the latest version of Reader, you can download a free copy at the Adobe download site.


Important Notice

Workshop participation priority is by the acceptance of a submitted and accepted abstract (i.e., invitation to submit an abstract is not an invitation to contribute and to attend the workshop). Due to space limitations and high demand for participation and attendance, submitted and accepted abstracts will be invited to contribute with priority over those who did not submit an abstract or whose abstract was not formally accepted.